So 2000 and late

I’m not one to jump on trends too quickly (it took me two years to own my first pair of skinny jeans), and in the same vein, I’m not one to declare anything “over.” But lately, I’ve been seeing several design trends all over the damn place and I’m quite frankly so frickin’ bored of them. They are so ubiquitous as to be annoying. Like teenagers peppering their speech with “like” the following items grate my eyeballs.

I realize how pretentious it is to make a list of things that are “over” but whatever, this is my blog and I’ll do what I want to. Think of this as “Erin’s list of stuff that annoys her” not necessarily my attempt to be a taste maker (or disassembler). So with no further ado, here is my list:

1) Sunburst mirrors: we’ve seen the expensive gold leaf ones. We’ve seen the cheaply, ingenious spray painted popsicle stick ones. We’ve seen them all, people. Let’s find something else to stick over our beds and mantles.

2) “Keep Calm and Carry On” posters: lots of iterations of this one.  Admittedly cute at first, but I’m over it.

3) Cardboard animal mounted heads. A funny take on the traditional style, but once you’ve seen them every week for a year above David Bromstad’s head while he whips up colorful creations, then on every other Apartment Therapy house tour, they’ve had their run.

4) Birds. But you know this already.

You could probably fill an entire apartment with just the things I’ve listed here and get your photo up on Apartment Therapy.

There are other trends right now that I absolutely love (chevron, birch, decals) and I don’t pretend that those might not be on someone else’s list of things that grate their eyeballs. Maybe those are even on your list! So, are there any design trends that you wish would just go away already?

This entry was posted in decorating, trends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

