Metamorphosis Monday-Christmas

So I’m slowly working my way through the holidays. Thursday it was Thanksgiving and Monday it’s Christmas. Maybe by February I will be ready to present New Years!

For this Met Monday, I put to use all those free ornaments I trash picked back in April. I’m still baffled that someone would throw perfectly good (and cute!) ornaments in the trash. Well, regardless I scored some goodies and decided to try my hand at the Eddie Ross wire hanger wreath tutorial from a few years ago.

It turned out pretty well! I could have used a couple more ornaments, but all in all not to shabby for a brand new wreath that cost me absolutely nothing. Nada. Free! (The ribbon was stolen from my parents’ house.)

It also snowed here in Connecticut again this weekend. It’s the kind of snow that sticks to all the branches and transforms the entire city into a winter wonderland!

And what does one do in a winter wonderland? Go sledding of course! And how does one sled when one is a poor grad student without a sled? Make one out of a box and trash bags of course!

This beautiful contraption, which we named the “Snow Devil,” lasted exactly one run, after which it broke into three pieces. However, the bubble wrap worked perfectly for sliding down the hill! I even went over a jump with it. I think it protected my tail bone. My poor friend Kim’s expression here pretty much sums up our “Ghetto Sledding.”

Participating in Susan’s Met Monday.

This entry was posted in Christmas, decorating, Metamorphosis Monday. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Metamorphosis Monday-Christmas

  1. Ok – the wreath is adorable but your sled is hysterical!!! I bet that was a blast! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hi Erin! Better late than never sharing your Christmas decor – I love it!
    Your snow photo is beautiful and I think the sled you guys made is perfect. Looks like you had fun. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks so much for visiting my blog and your sweet compliment!

  3. Kathy says:

    I’m loving that wreath! Free makes it even better!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Loved the wreath. Loved the wintery photo even more. But my favorite is the sled. Thanks for the laugh!!! You brightened up my day.

  5. SJ says:

    LOL! Your improvised sled made me laugh so hard coz it reminded me of my girls. Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Susan says:

    I say every year I’m going to make that wreath and I never get around to it…your’s turned out awesome! Love it! Did you hot glue the little hanger parts to the bulb or did they stay on?
    I LOVE your sled…soooo funny! Admire your determination to make do! ๐Ÿ˜‰ It snows so rarely here in Georgia that we are usually caught sledless and have to improvise, too. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Susan

    • Oh my I feel like I just met a celebrity! Thanks for stopping by Susan!!

      I didn’t glue the hangers to the bulbs because I was hoping Santa would put a hot glue gun in my stocking ๐Ÿ˜‰ It wasn’t a problem when it was just up on my door, but when I went to put it away some of the bulbs fell off. I ended up hot gluing the after the fact, which was much more difficult! Oh well, live and learn.

      If you are caught with snow and no sled, I HIGHLY recommend a piece of cardboard in a trash bag. Works like magic!

Leave a Reply

