Tablescape Thursday: Happy….Thanksgiving?

Ok, and Happy New Year! Yes, I am completely and totally late in posting this tablescape. The holiday season was a bit hectic this year, with my first round of finals and some family stuff going on. So my best blog intentions were thwarted. But better late than never, right?

I decided to stay at school for Thanksgiving for the first time since I was abroad in 2004. My friend and his sister were also kicking it in town for the holiday. So instead of dining on Chinese food, which would have been depressing, I decided to throw my hat in the ring and elect myself the official Thanksgiving dinner and cheer coordinator.

Because what is Thanksgiving without a turkey, really?


(A turkey, I might add, that took 2 extra hours to cook than I had planned.)

Did I also mention that I now have a table? A legit table! If you remember my studio and my other tablescapes, you will remember the cramped and tiny coffee table. Well, no more. I feel like an adult now!

And every adult should have a nicely outfitted bar.

In all, it was a pretty fun Thanksgiving. I should have taken some photos of the checklists and timetables and instructions that I had taped all over my kitchen cabinets. But that would entail me showing the world my ugly kitchen cabinets! So maybe another time.

Stop on over at Susan’s for some more eye candy!

This entry was posted in holiday, tablescape. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tablescape Thursday: Happy….Thanksgiving?

  1. I think it’s great that you stepped up to the plate (pardon the bad pun!) and offered to host a Thanksgiving fete at your place! I’m sure your friend and his sister really appreciated all the effort you put into creating such a nice meal with a nice table setting on which to enjoy it! Happy New Year, and congratulations on the table!

  2. Barbara says:

    Good for you! It is always a little scary, cooking that first turkey but now you are a pro! The table looks pretty. I like your little pumpkins and all those candles.

  3. marlis says:

    Congratulations on your delightful thanksgivings table! Your turkey looks absolutely wonderful, as I bet it tasted just that!!

  4. chie says:

    Great thoughts!

    Hmmm… I am drooling with the perfectly oven-toasted turkey. May I ask, what’s your stuffings?

    Happy TS…

    Greetings from chilly Stockholm,
    /chie

  5. I love that you are in school and still taking the time to entertain…you’re a champion in my opinion! I know that your friends must have been thrilled to have such a lovely party planned for them. Thank you for sharing your charming design. Cherry Kay

Leave a Reply

