Tablescape Thursday: Nautical

A couple weeks ago, I was lucky enough to be invited to the Outer Banks with my aunt, uncle and cousins. I had never been to OBX before, and I loved it! We pried ourselves away from the beach one morning for a little shopping, and I picked up some adorable life rings that I knew would make such cute napkin rings!

I’ve been a sailor my whole life, so I’ve been the recipient of some pretty cute nautical stuff over the years. The glasses were a gift from my parents, and the cheese tray was a gift from my aunt.


I tried out white napkins at first, but I felt it didn’t give the table enough oomph, so I switched to some red ones. Here’s the first attempt:


Here’s what I settled upon:
The shells and sea glass are all from my various beach combing trips around the world. I have a huge collection of stuff from lakes and the sea, and I love displaying them. I hope to get one of those cute glass lamps that you can fill up with sand and sea treasures one of these days (but they’re so damn expensive!).
I also made a trip to Annapolis over Memorial Day weekend and picked up this adorable dish towel. I wanted a last souvenir from the Chesapeake before I leave it this August!

The funniest part of my whole vacation to the Outer Banks occurred one night at dinner. My cousin Clay ordered oysters and we found some “surprises” in them. Being from the Midwest, we were all very unfamiliar with (we later learned through the help of Wikipedia) the delicacy knows as “oyster crabs.” Finding these live little suckers was unsettling, to say the least. That didn’t stop us from playing with our food however! They kept crawling around, and in the photo below, you can see my cousin trying to feed one a green bean. Gross.
Lantern: Pier 1, two years ago
Plates: Ikea
Silverware: Target
Napkins: gifts
Glasses: TJ Max three years ago
Cheese tray: gift
Appetizer knife: Sur la Table
Stop over to Susan’s for some more tablescaping eye candy.

This entry was posted in nautical, summer, tablescape. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tablescape Thursday: Nautical

  1. What a cute table! Those glasses and the cheese plate, along with the lantern and darling napkin rings really carry out the sailing theme perfectly! Great job!

  2. Barbara says:

    I just love that cheese tray. The red napkins really do make things pop.

  3. Sharlotte says:

    Love that cheese tray too and your napkin rings. Not sure how I'd handle your little "friends"…might have screamed!!Sharlotte

  4. Mimi says:

    I love your table, agree the red napkins do showcase it better than the white. The napkin rings and sailboat glasses are the cutest.

  5. Mary says:

    You did a really nice job putting everything together. I really like your napkin rings. Have a great weekend! Mary

  6. Bill says:

    Nicely done. I agree that the red napkins really add just the right touch! Thanks for the education about "oyster crabs." I guess one man's delicacy is another's … well, I'm glad to know what they are in case I ever encounter one! ;)Hope you have a great weekend!Bill

Leave a Reply

