Tablescape Thursday: Summer is here!


So I’ve been very busy this past month, and by busy, I mean I’ve been lounging in the sun and sand! Summer is here in DC in full force, and beach season has begun! I just took my first of three seaside excursions last week in the Outer Banks, and I picked up some fun stuff for tablescaping! That post is to come.

In the meantime, I’ve had some great old friends stop by our nation’s capital, and I took that opportunity to dish them up some goodness, and do a little tablescaping.


I had originally wanted to do a University of Michigan theme, as the people I was having over for dinner are all college friends, but I couldn’t for the life of me find any yellow (maize) or blue napkins! But then I saw these cute sunflower napkins and decided to do a summery theme and I think it turned out quite nicely.

I hope everyone is enjoying their summers thus far! I’m busy looking for a new apartment for when I move to go to grad school. I’m sure there will be many posts about that exciting/frustrating experience in the future. This will be my 10th (!!!!) move in eight years. Hopefully, it will be the last one for a long time….this moving thing is getting old.


Pop on over to Susan’s for some more tablescaping eye candy!

This entry was posted in summer, tablescape. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tablescape Thursday: Summer is here!

  1. Lana says:

    This is a wonderful summer tablescape. I LOVE how you layered those placemats!The colors are so vivid and perfect for warm weather!!!!!!Great job!Hugs,Lana

  2. Bill says:

    The close-up of your flowers is stunning – very nice composition! I like contemporary vase with the squared corners and the way your summery napkins coordinate with the centerpiece. Happy Tablescape Thursday!Bill

  3. Sunflowers just spell summer, don't they? I love the yellow with the red placemats and candleholders — such a cheery combination with the pretty flowers!

  4. Barbara says:

    I love the way you overlapped the placemats. The red and yellow combination looks so nice in your blue room.

  5. I like how you layered the placemats to mimic the flower petals. It ties together as a nice theme with your floral centerpiece and napkins.Requi

  6. Mimi says:

    Beautiful flowers!

  7. GrannySue says:

    I neer thought of doing that with placemats — so clever, and it looks so good. I love the idea of setting the coffee table (that IS a coffe table isn't it) for an informal snack visit. We have lots of drop in guests, so I'll be using this idea. Adore the summer feel. Great job.

  8. Oh my! That's a lot of moves — I'm sure you're wanting to put downs some roots and stay awhile. Love those napkins and your placemats are so clever.

  9. craftyles says:

    Hi,Thanks for the nice comment about my kitchen. I love reds too-can you tell? I think your tablescape is really cute. I love the sunflowers. Hope you find a place soon.

Leave a Reply

