Merry Christmas!


And happy holidays to you all!

No, don’t worry, I’ve not totally lost my mind (well, not yet at least)! But I did get a little holiday season cheer injecting into my routine last week while taking out my recycling. Look what I found!


A whole treasure trove of Ikea ornaments tucked by my apartment building’s dumpster. And I didn’t even take all of them. Someone was obviously moving out and just trashing a bunch of stuff. There was an artificial Christmas tree too, along with a bunch of random, perfect condition stuff, like an oar, Christmas tree lights, a shower caddy, etc.


I had to run out to a friend’s place after finding them and was keeping my fingers crossed that everything would be there when I got back, and it was! I stuffed these ornaments into my reusable shopping bag and crossed my fingers that no one would see me dumpster diving 🙂


The ornaments will complement my Christmas decor perfectly. Everything I have is red and gold. I adore the plaid ornaments too. They speak to my inner prep.


Can’t wait to put up the tree this year with all my new-to-me goodies!

This entry was posted in Christmas, holiday, thrifting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Merry Christmas!

  1. Aren't you the lucky one!!! Great find!Thanks for stopping by today…

  2. Gloria says:

    Hi! I decided to give your blog a visit! And I CANNOT believe that someone threw out all of those nice ornaments!! Goodness, aren't people crazy? At least give them to Goodwill or something. They sure must have been stressed out and in a hurry. Might it have been a DIVORCE? That's the only thing I can think of that would make someone just 'dump' these, as if they never wanted to see them again! Know what I mean?? Anyway, it's your good luck to find them. Now tuck them away for December and start getting ready for the Summer, Miss Christmas!! :)Best regards,Gloria

  3. Erin says:

    Thanks for stopping by ladies! I hope it wasn't a divorce, Gloria, but I guess that would make sense! Well, one man's misery is another woman's treasure in this case, and I promise to make the best of the ornaments!

Leave a Reply

