Dickens’ Village


So, because I have started this blog in the new year, most of my photos are from the recent holiday festivities. Apologies for the lag in seasons! I spent most of December stuck in my apartment, applying to graduate school, so I didn’t get to show off any of my Christmas decor until January 3rd! That’s what happens when one is a self imposed hermit, I guess.

However, for my first decorating post, I’m actually cheating. I won’t be showing you and of my decor, but rather that of my parents’ house, where I spent a wonderful week this Christmas. Since I can remember, my dad has set up a display of our collection of Department 56 Dickens’ Village houses. Over the years it grew until it got to the point where we couldn’t add anymore items because we had run out of display space!

I’ve always loved our Dickens’ Village figurines in particular because they tell a story, that of A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. You can see in the photo below Tiny Tim on his father Bob Cratchit’s shoulders, being carried down the street. Tiny Tim, Bob Cratchit and Ebenezer Scrooge actually make a few appearances in the display.


In this photo, Scrooge has finally made it to the end of his journey with the ghosts of Christmases Past, Present and Yet to Come and is in front of his grave. If you look closely on the right, you can see the ghost of Jacob Marley, Scrooge’s old business partner, standing in front of his house, wrapped in chains.


But, Scrooge eventually sees the error of his ways, and Christmas day brings us to the Cratchit’s door, where Scrooge greets the family after having sent them an anonymous turkey for their Christmas meal.


The tablescape is filled with other scenes of Christmastime around the village. There are carolers and ice skaters and all other sorts of quaint scenes. I wish I had taken better pictures, but alas I only remembered to photograph the village at a party I was hosting, and these were all the results of a couple of glasses of wine!



Below is a great view down the length of the street, with the houses and the street lamps lit. There’s even a little lamp lighter on a ladder–too bad I didn’t get a photo of him.


Do you have a Deparment 56 village, or another Christmas display that really tells a great story of the season? (And yes, I realize the season has passed!)

I’m also posting as part of Susan’s Tablescape Thursday, for the first time ever!

This entry was posted in Christmas, Department 56, Dickens' Village, tablescape. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Dickens’ Village

  1. Sarah says:

    This is a beautiful post. I just began my blog in August, so welcome. it is a fun group of friends, and Tablescape Thursday is one of my favorite events. I look forward to seeing more of your posts.We don't have any of the holiday village sets. I've always admired them in other's homes. Our neighbor, 95, had a complete village set up on her hearth for the holidays. Her care giver owns the set and brought it to share with Alice for the holidays. I thought that was one of the most thoughtful things someone could do. It was magical with lots of beautiful vignettes.

  2. Welcome to the wonderful world of blogging! You are now a part of a fabulous community. Supportive and positive and so very creative!You have done a fantastic job for your first blog! Your Mom's collection is amazing. The detail and the way real life is captured in these little figurines is a wonder.Your Mom must have been collecting for years!Good luck with grad school and welcome!Yvonne

  3. Vivian says:

    I have a mix-matched village that I just love. If it didn't take up so much room, I would be temped to leave it up year round. Welcome to blogland. I made my first post in December.

  4. Welcome to blogland and you can post photos of anybody's pretty things…we enjoy all of them!!! Have fun and good luck with the grad school thingy!!!

  5. Liz says:

    This is a perfect little village! You did an awesome job. Love it! ~Liz

  6. Katie says:

    Those are so cool! I always like to see the Dept. 56 houses, my aunt collects them too. I started my blog in Oct., and it has been a lot of fun- I am a new follower. I look forward to reading more! 🙂

  7. Mimi says:

    Welcome from a newcomer, too…your Dickens' Village is fabulous!

  8. Gloria says:

    What lovely village items!!! You did a great job. I just started blogging in Dec. – my blog is "lame" as I have had a problem with my laptop for the past few weeks, but I hope to fill it up with pics and 'musings' in 2010. Nice to meet you and, again, LOVE your Christmas village!Best regards,Gloria

  9. This is so pretty — I love all the "village people" who are out and about the little village.

Leave a Reply

